The Mummy Tag

I have been tagged in ‘The Mummy Tag’ by the fabulous Katy Gibson. Hopefully the questions in this tag will enable you to get to know me a little better.

 

Are you a stay at home or working mum?

I am a stay at home mum at the moment, due to my various health issues I am unable to work. Throughout the 6 years since Ethan was born I have been a stay at home mum, a working mum and a mature student mum. In 2014 I had a stroke and my health has been poor since then and so our lives really have changed quite a bit.

Would you have it any other way?

Tough question to answer really. If my health hadn’t taken a turn for the worse then I would have graduated with a degree in tourism management and hopefully be working in that industry now. However, being unwell and now living with chronic health issues, although I am physically weaker I am mentally stronger. It has also made myself and Ethan even closer than we were. We have such a strong bond and we really are best friends.

What is your one must have item for your child?

When Ethan was a baby my must have item was muslin cloths and now 6 years later…..they still are!! I constantly use them as a mini picnic blanket when he is eating otherwise we end up with crumbs absolutely everywhere!!!

How many kids do you plan on having?

Just the one. In all honesty having kids wasn’t in my life plan. I had never thought about it. Then one day I woke up and had the most painful boobs ever!!!!! I decided to take a pregnancy test and it showed up positive and at my first scan I discovered I was actually 31 weeks pregnant, huge shock!!!  7 weeks later Ethan was born!!

What’s your child’s favourite show?

Ethan loves watching youtube more than TV, he loves the youtuber ‘DanTDM’ as he is a huge fan of minecraft and he thinks Dan is absolutely brilliant!!! When he was younger he loved ‘In the night garden’ and ‘balamory’. Together we love to watch ‘Full House’ and ‘Fuller House’.

Name one thing you bought before you had your baby that you didn’t end up using?

I don’t think there was really anything I didn’t use at all. I bought Tommee Tippee bottles for feeding but within weeks I switched to Dr Browns as I found them much better and Ethan wasn’t as ‘windy’ when drinking from them.

Your child’s favourite food?

At the moment Ethan is loving coco pops, I think it is because the milk goes chocolatey! He loves pizza but it has to be a mini pizza from the Co-Operative, their own brand, I think it is about 60p and there are never any leftovers when he has one of them!!!!

Weight gain before pregnancy, during, after and now?

I actually lost weight in early pregnancy. I was attending weight watchers and I had no idea I was pregnant and I lost about 2 stone!  Once I found out I was pregnant (at 30 weeks) my bump suddenly appeared, I had quite a neat bump and only gained about 1stone. On the maternity ward I was the only one who didn’t still have a bump after giving birth. Pregnancy weight soon came off but now 6 years later I am much heavier (I am plus size), I have issues with my weight linked to my medication and I am physically unable to be as active as I have been previously. I have further health issues that need addressing at the moment and once I know what it going on I hope to start my weight loss journey again.

Dream holiday with the kids?

Inter-railing around Europe! This is something I really hope to do with Ethan. I love to travel and see new places and meet new people and I hope Ethan grows up with the same passion. I would love to take this trip with him in the next few years.

Dream holiday without kids?

It would be with my mum, in a nice traditional village in Spain, enjoying the local vino and tapas.

How has your life changed since having kids?

I now see how how selfish and self centred I could be previously. Now I have Ethan he is at the heart of everything I do and everything decision I make. He has changed my life for the better, he makes me a better person.

Finish the sentence. My heart melts when….

Ethan helps me. I have mobility issues and often struggle to just sit up or stand up, Ethan sees this and always comes and helps me. He knows when to call for more help, he understands there are times I need rest etc…. He is a very caring and understanding little boy and I am so proud of him.

Where do you shop for your kids?

George at Asda are without a doubt my favourite place to shop for Ethan’s clothes. They are fashionable, good quality, the sizing is good and they are very affordable. School trousers and polo shirts are always from there, very hard wearing!!! I also like Primark, they have some great summer wear this year and I have stocked up on shorts, tee shirts and vests for Ethan! ..

Favourite make up and skin care products?

Garnier micellar water and the Garnier 7 day intensive moisturiser are my favourite skincare products. They are gentle on my skin and they leave my often troublesome skin feeling fresh and soft.

Huggies or Pampers?

I actually used Aldi nappies and they were absolutely brilliant, all the way through from newborn to toddler pull ups, very well priced too!!

Have you always wanted kids?

As I said earlier, I never really though about having kids, it wasn’t really on my radar. I can’t imagine not being a mummy now though 🙂

Best part of being a mummy?

The endless cuddles, adventures together, seeing him grow and develop into a confident child, the list is endless. When he hugs me and says I love you, that is the greatest feeling in the world.

A huge thank you to the fabulous Katy for the tag, I now tag the lovely Becky .  Please head over and take a look at their blogs, they are both awesome x x x x

Leave a Reply

